No more Loveparade

July 24, 2010 at 10:32 pm 3 comments

Many news reports used something like “Dead…Loveparade”  as a title for the tragedy in Duisburg. And just the connection of these two words seems so strange to me… how could such a big festival turn into a disaster all of a sudden.

My condolences to all tragically involved.

I think what we need is not another shocking news report or Youtube video, not another quick judgmenent, but maybe a reflection on what has happened so far.  As an electronic music fan, I give you my personal Loveparade story;

I only once went to Loveparade in, in 2006. I danced — or whatever you want to call it — at the opening event of Loveparade with a comfortable 2000-3000 people, but then was rather too tired to go to the real rave the next morning. But somehow I found myself strolling around the Brandenburg Gate, very quickly passed the security gate which was directly installed under the famous arches of the Gate. I thought the people there, mostly cliché ravers, were disgusting but, as I told you, I was not in a party mood. I remember the fences around the Tiergarten, to prevent destruction and trash there, but in a situation of panic, these fences would have fallen easily. Thank god.

Just yesterday, I saw a short Youtube video in which the project manager rejects the concerns about the small area with humour: “Half a square metre is enough to dance….” (or so). I did not worry then, I thought “Well, there must have been enough heads in the city to think about that.” Compared to the spaciousness of Berlin’s Tiergarten area, the Duisburg area was a birdcage. And the same amount of people was expected as in the peak years of the former Loveparade.

As a child, I saw some of Dr Motte’s openings of Loveparade on TV — and I wondered about these crazy people dancing to brainlessly booming music. Some years later I found myself at a smaller rave and sensed why people like this music; music that was there played by a real DJ, so non-Scooter, so non-DJ-Bobo-like. It was so energetic, so creative, so without limits. Pure excess, pure escape.

Loveparade illustrated (simple past here, I guess the parade itself is dead now) the commercialization of techno music. After the political flirts of the parade in the 90s, the festival today was more a socially-accepted carnival for everyone. And of course, I liked the fact that more and more people got enthusiastic about the music I grew into and in which I discovered my own taste.

Still, the scene grows and in my hometown Hannover I discover a great variety of electronic events organized by the local scene. Not that big and mainstreamy, but very creative and intense. Techno was born in such small, clubby environments in which it still flourishes. Loveparade in Duisburg was  a Zombie — the event itself was dead, kept half alive by McFit and Duisburg City, but the scene was and is growing and growing, still in the stuffy clubs were it started. That the organizers and the city did not care about anything anymore is the toxic waste of absolute commercialization.

Sad to see that the music has been instrumentalized for purely commercial interests, and when reading this article and the comments (!!!) warning about a stampede way before the parade started on can only ask: How careless were the organizers? How deep was the city’s greed for money?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Im Trend: Bücherschränke Ecosia statt Google? Nein, danke!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Danuela  |  August 10, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Yeah, but yould you take the responsibility as an event-aganecy or promoter to realize the LP again? I think there will be no company for that risk the next few years.

    Reply
  • 2. jannesr  |  August 10, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    I did not say that the LP should be realised again…the brand is dead and damaged, as well as mcfit and schaller. For a good reason, as an investigative report on the homepage of Duisburg City finds out so far, how carelessly has been organised…

    Reply
  • 3. jannesr  |  August 10, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    I think, all these ideas of techno in a cage (“Technokäfighaltung”) are wrong anyway…in hannover i know that there are many places in hannover where electronic party happen semi-legally at cool places (parks etc..)…one should think about a great festival, which is free, well a bit commercial also, and somehow creates a different spirit….

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About jannesr.wordpress.com Blog

This Blog has no real mission, but it is just a place for me to publish stories.
I like to have the pressure to simply write something down for an abstract audience. Bristrouble.wordpress.com was another attempt of me to do this when I was in Bristol. See below.

Categories

RSS London Leben – great monothematic Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Art-for-eye Blog on Web 2.0 (mostly)

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.